I Don’t Think the Tea Party Understands what Terrorism is.

I think that the tea party is having trouble getting their position straight. They hate terrorism? But they’re terrorizing others based on race and presumed religion.

In case you didn’t watch the video, it shows right wing extremists harassing–terrorizing–the Islamic Circle of North America, a group hosting an Orange County charity fundraiser which raised money for women’s shelters and the homeless.The tea party group is shown here screaming death threats and racial slurs. Called “We Surround Them OC 912”, they are not only terrible people, but they’re terrible people supported by a few terrible politicians. Ed Royce, US Representative for California’s 40th district attended the protest and said, “I am proud of you. I am proud of what you are doing.”

Really Ed? You’re proud of a group of racist cowards hiding behind their “patriotism”?

More after the jump!

Even though most of us have long since stopped being surprised by the racist, xenophobic, homophobic, and sexist crap tea partiers been spouting for around two years now, it’s still upsetting to see and hear. To know that this is happening, that there are people who are being persecuted for their race and there are bigots who excuse their own racism because they just want what’s best for AMERICA because the USA is a place for freedom and the American dream! It’s horrible. And sometimes it feels like there’s nothing we can do to stop it. But we can do something. When you see someone spewing racist idiocy, call them out. Report them. If someone is being victimized, help. Say something. Make sure that people know what’s going on.

I’m a privileged person. I’m a half asian, half caucasian woman. People in line with me at the airport don’t assume that I’m a terrorist, if my car breaks down, people will stop to help me and offer me a ride. No one assumes that I’m dangerous, or that I hate women, and children, and freedom. I will never fully understand how Middle Easterners feel about the increasing level of hatred increasingly being directed towards them. I can never empathize, but I can say that I am sorry to all of Middle Easterners being victimized. What’s happening is wrong. No group deserves to be treated like this.

And to the woman in the video who said, “What’s going on over there is pure, unadulterated evil”? Try looking in a mirror.

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

2 thoughts on “I Don’t Think the Tea Party Understands what Terrorism is.

  1. discourseincsharpminor says:

    I agree. In the tea folk vocabulary the main qualifying factor for what constitutes a terrorist act is that the person committing that act is a practitioner of the Islamic faith. That puts them at odds with any dictionary I’ve ever seen, but I don’t believe that would bother them.

    • Completely agreed. Whenever I see people saying crazy things like this I want to use logic and reason to talk about flaws in their viewpoint, but logic doesn’t seem to sway them.

Leave a Reply

