Why Have There Been No Great Women Artists?

My first official blog post at YouthNoise is up!

For those of you who don’t know, YouthNoise is a site catered towards youth activists, young people who want to change the world for the better. The energy is really incredible. The amount of positive people working for YouthNoise and posting on the site is inspiring (and a great response to those who say that kids nowadays just don’t care!) I’m the web content and design intern for the summer, so I’m the one updating the front page, creating banners, so on and so on. I’ll also be writing about women’s rights in my weekly blog posts.

For my first post I was really unsure of what I wanted to write. I didn’t want to start out covering the basics of women’s rights, as many site users are already well versed in the fight for gender equality and there are already a huge number of resources for feminism 101. For my first post I wanted to write about something that I was passionate about. So for a while I just worked on some design things and mulled over ideas.

And then as I was just sitting on the redline and staring at all of the buildings flashing past the windows I suddenly knew. It seemed like a great place to start.

“Why have there been no great women artists?”

First things first, I am in no way the first person to talk about this. This question is Linda Nochlin all the way. Her essay is far more fleshed out and intriguing than my YouthNoise rehashing is. But it seemed like a good topic, something I was comfortable discussing, and something that I thought would interest YouthNoise users. Not to mention something that interests me!

So there it is. Go ahead and click through if you want. Even if you’re not interested in my post there are a number of other posts by youth looking to make change that I think you’ll find interesting! There are people focusing on environmental issues, how sports can be used as a tool for social change, Asian Americans in the media, racism, and politics. So take a peek, share the site with your children, cousins, friends. Anyone you know who’s a youth making a difference in your community!

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

